Legislative Delegation to address requests


The Anderson County Legislative Delegation will hold their semi-annual meeting Thursday night, at the Townsend Building on Clemson Avenue. The meeting is open to the public, and citizens can sign up to address the delegation. The meeting begins at 6 p.m.

The delegation, chaired by Rep Mike Gambrell, from District 7, meets with the public twice a year. This meeting will deal in large part with reappointing incumbents, and otherwise filling vacancies, on a number of boards and commissions.

Appointments to Boards and Commisssions include:

Anderson County Registration and Elections Commission (seven incumbents);

Anderson County Social Services Board (one vacancy)

Anderson County Transportation Committee (six incumbents and one vacancy);

Anderson-Oconee-Pickens Mental Health Center Board (two incumbents)

Renewable Water Resources (one incumbent);

Powdersville Water District Board (three incumbents);

Sandy Springs Water District Board (one vacancy);

Starr-Iva Water District Board (one incumbent and two vacancies);

West Anderson Water District Board (three incumbents)

Also on the agenda are requests for appropriations from the various municipalities’ and other recreational organizations in the county will also be considered. The PARD funds are restricted to use for recreation and other activities that can promote tourism. According to the agenda provided, there is approximately $71,300 available for allocation. The requests received by the delegation are as follows:

City of Belton – $10,000.00

Town of Honea Path – $ 7,500.00

Town of West Pelzer – $ 5,000.00

Town of Williamston – $10,000.00

Double Springs Park (Anderson County) – $13,440.00

Hurricane Springs Park (Anderson County) – $5,000.00

Mountain View Park (Anderson County) – $6,200.00

Susan Street Park (Anderson County) – $7,000.00

Wellington Park (Anderson County) – $7,000.00

Total amount being requested is $ 71,140.