Bertram named District One Teacher of the Year


Jennifer Bertram, an English teacher at Wren High School is the Anderson District One Teacher of the Year, and will represent the district for the 2014-2015 school year. As the district’s Teacher of the Year, Bertram will represent District One in the competition for South Carolina Teacher of the Year.

She will serve on a state-wide advisory panel to the State Department of Education and will receive $1,000 in recognition of her outstanding achievements.

Bertram, said, “I am honored to be named Teacher of the Year for Anderson District One. I am looking forward to representing this district – the best in the state.”

She also shared “ Teaching is a gift. It is not without its challenges and short-comings, but it is the most rewarding profession of which I am honored to be a part. I am constantly working to create my masterpiece. Artists never stop creating. Scientists never stop searching for answers. Teachers never stop growing.”

Nichole Boseman, Principal at Wren High School said, “I have watched Ms. Bertram’s dedication to teaching students on a daily basis. She values her time with them and often times goes above and beyond the call of duty to make sure their needs are met.”

Anderson District one Superintendent David Havird said, “Ms. Bertram is an exemplary teacher that always finds a way to connect with and challenge her students. Her strong organization, planning and communication skills allows for the delivery of some of the most creative and meaningful lessons within her classroom. Additionally, she is deserving of this award because of her sincere commitment to helping students being the best they can be.”

Bertram began her career in Anderson One in 2006 as an English teacher at Wren High. She earned her Bachelor’s degree from Ohio State University and is currently pursuing a Masters in Educational Leadership and Supervision at Clemson University. She is married to William Bertram and they have three children.

Jane Harrison, Assistant Superintendent, said the announcement was made at the annual Back to School Kick Off for all employees on August 14, 2014. Mrs. Harrison stated, “Ms. Bertram will represent Anderson One well this year as our Teacher of the Year. She is involved in many initiatives at the school and district level. She is a great role model for teachers with her passion and care for the students.” Joanna Watkins, Palmetto High and Renee Sanders, Wren Elementary were named finalists.

Candidates for District One Teacher of the Year included:

Cedar Grove Elementary, Heather Dowell; Concrete Primary , Christie Wright; Hunt Meadows Elementary, Bryan Little; Palmetto Elementary, Lisa Brown; Powdersville Elementary, Patrise C. Dawkins; Spearman Elementary Stacy Allen Brooks; West Pelzer Elementary, Ashlee Lengacher; Wren Elementary Renee Sanders; Palmetto Middle, Erin Wimberly; Powdersville Middle, Angelia Lynn Armstrong; Wren Middle, Shannon Rossley Goodacre; Palmetto High, Joanna D. Watkins; Powdersville High, Elizabeth Hayden May; Wren High, Jennifer Bertram