Blue Ridge Coop honors Bolts of Brightness


Blue Ridge Electric Cooperative Inc., a member-owned, not-for-profit electric distribution utility that serves more than 64,000 customers in the Upstate, recently celebrated their 75th anniversary by naming 75 members of the local community as “Bolts of Brightness.” Chris and Jim Wilson of Williamston were among the recipients honored at the Madren Center in Clemson.

“Bolts of Brightness” was established to recognize members in the local community that embody the spirit of the cooperative’s mission. Blue Ridge Electric Cooperative opened nominations to Blue Ridge members and selected 75 individuals who have volunteered personal time to serve others in the community. In addition to being recognized with an award at the 75th Anniversary event, honorees were given $500 to be donated to a charitable organization of their choice.

“There was not a better way for Blue Ridge Electric Cooperative to celebrate our 75th Anniversary than to honor our local heroes for their service in our community,” said Charles Dalton, President and CEO of Blue Ridge Electric Cooperative, Inc. “We were thrilled to be able to recgonize these individuals with a special event and celebrate their work in the Upstate.”

Award recipients listed by area:

Anderson: Blake Berry, Manella Calhoun, Lee Halleck, Mr. & Mrs. Doug Palmer

Cleveland: Mr. Avery Leroy Ashe, In Memory of Alice Hall Lawton, Anna White

Easley: Philip Owens, Patricia Underwood, Mr. and Mrs. Frank Hamilton, Shay Hardin, Meg Leatherwood, Anita Richardson

Fair Play: Larry Wilkerson

Landrum: Dave Schaub, Billy Lee Herman, Jeanne Moore

Liberty: Chuck Baker, Deanna Counts, David Moody

Marietta: Kenneth Curtis, Rollan Green

Mountain Rest: Joseph Jones

Pickens: Esther Corn, In Memory of Theron Crenshaw, Sam C. Dunn, Sharon Durham, Teresa Johnson, Betty McDaniel, Gary Monroe, Butch Morris, Kevin Nicholson, Judy Rackley, In Memory of Regina Reece, Bart Turner, Justin Anderson

Salem: Marti Jennings

Seneca: Jenna Black, Dwaine Eubanks, Sam Thrift, Tom Thrift, Helen Westmoreland, Cheryl Brewer, Toni Brewer, Donald Gilstrap, Gwen McPhail, Ronnie Williams

Six Mile: Jimmie Haynes

Tigerville: Patty Snyder


David Blizzard

Albert Steven Hartsell, Jr.

Debbie Ann Sloan

Travelers Rest:

Ann Trammell


Mr. and Mrs. Jack Arve

West Union:

Martha Frady

Mr. and Mrs. Lewis McMahan


Olivia Adams

Brian Allen

Vernon Bacher

Jean Carter

Darragh Geist

Paul Graber

In Memory of Shirley Hawkins

Jason Moore

Tim Nix

Lynn Owen

Evelyn Phillips

Kim Richardson

Mildred Spearman

Linda Stone

Mr. & Mrs. L J Jones


Chris and Jim Wilson

To learn more about Blue Ridge Electric Cooperative, Inc. and the communities they service, visit