Pelzer election to include more voters, candidates


November 3

By David Meade

Voters in the recently expanded Town of Pelzer will have the opportunity to choose from eleven candidates when they vote Nov. 3 to decide who will serve on the town’s four council seats.

Incumbents Cheryl Boudreau, Donna Ide and Tony Riddle are seeking reelection to the seats they have held for some time. Joining them on the ballot will be newcomers Jimmy Harrison, Roger Scott Sr., Kimberly Crone Wilson, Charles Emery, Olene Bear, Gilbert Garrett, Eve Holiday and Will Ragland.

The town’s recent annexation of the upper and lower mill villages and surrounding properties, opened the door for those interested in having more say in the town operations, and allowing voters more say in who will represent them on the council.

Incumbent Pelzer Mayor Steve McGregor is up for reelection however his name will not appear on the ballot because no one else signed up to run for the mayor’s seat.

All Pelzer council positions including mayor are two year terms and come open at the same time, Pelzer Town Clerk Heather Holcombe said.

Councilmembers voted in June to reduce their salary by half to help the town’s finances.

Councilmembers monthly salary of $200 was reduced to $100. The Mayor’s salary of $800 was cut in half to $400. Councilmembers do not receive any insurance or other benefits.

A meet the candidates forum held last Thursday at the Community Center drew approximately 40 people to hear and meet candidates.

A second forum is scheduled for 7 p.m. October 15. The Journal will also be publishing announcement information for each candidate.

To vote in the upcoming election, residents must be registered by October 2, 2015. To register, contact the Anderson County Board of Voter Registration.

Voting will be held at the Pelzer Community Building. The polls will be open at 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. on Election Day.

Voters will be asked to show one of the following Photo IDs:

S.C. Driver’s License

ID Card issued by S.C. Department of Motor Vehicles

S.C. Voter Registration Card with Photo

Federal Military ID

U.S. Passport

If necessary, any run-off election will be held two weeks after the election on Tuesday, November 17.

The Town’s Municipal Election Commission will be in charge of the Pelzer election. Election Commisssion members include Scott Larson, Walter Davis and Jackie Vaughn.

The town is planning to turn their municipal election process over to the Anderson County Election Commission and recently took the first step, voting in favor of the change during their last council meeting.

If approved, the change will take effect for the next election cycle in 2016.