All students eligible for breakfast, lunch program


Greenville County Schools

Sue Cleveland Elementary School will be among a number of Greenville County schools participating in the Community Eligibility Provision for the 2015-2016 school year. All students enrolled in the school/district may participate in the breakfast and lunch program at no charge to them. Families will not have to fill out meal applications.

Section 104(a) of the Healthy, Hunger Free Kids Act of 2010 amended section 11(a)(1) of the Richard B. Russell National School Lunch Act (42 U.S.C. 1759a(a)(1))(the law) to provide an alternative to household applications for free and reduced-price meals in local educational agencies (LEAs) and schools with increased levels of low-income students. This alternative is referred to as the Community Eligibility Provision.

Breakfast and lunch meals follow the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) guidelines for healthy school meals. Please encourage students to participate in the school meal programs.

Greenville County Schools participating include: Alexander Elementary School, Armstrong Elementary School, Berea Elementary School, Chandler Creek Elementary School, Cherrydale Elementary School, Duncan Chapel Elementary School, East North St. Elementary School, Grove Elementary School, Hollis Elementary School and Monaview Elementary School.

Also Slater-Marietta Elementary School, Sue Cleveland Elementary School, Thomas Kerns Elementary School, Welcome Elementary School, Westcliffe Elementary School, Berea Middle School, Lakeview Middle School, Tanglewood Middle School, West Greenville, Berea High School and Carolina High School

Contact School Food Service (SFS) Director Joe Urban for additional information.

Parents or guardians that do not want their child/children to participate in CEP may wish to discuss this matter with Joe Urban, Director, Greenville County Schools Food and Nutrition Services, on an informal basis.

Parents wishing to make a formal appeal may make a request for a hearing to appeal the decision either orally or in writing to Joe Urban, Director, Greenville County Schools Food and Nutrition Services whose address is:

MT Anderson Support Center

100 Blassingame Rd, Greenville, SC 29605