Tamara Cox named Teacher of the Year – School District One


Anderson School District One teachers and administrators celebrated their first day back at the annual kick off meeting which was held August 13 at Wren High School. Tamara Cox, Librarian at Wren High School was named the Anderson School District One Teacher of the Year.
“I am very proud of Mrs. Cox and the work that she has done throughout her career in Anderson School District One,” said Superintendent Robbie Binnickier. “Her contributions to our technology initiatives and libraries have impacted students in very positive ways. Tamara Cox is a wonderful advocate for students and will represent Anderson One extremely well.”
Ms. Cox had this to say, “I truly believe there isn’t a student you wouldn’t love if you could read their story. I try to embody that in the library at Wren High School by creating a library program that is welcoming and supportive to staff and students. Stories shape lives and change our world. My job as a school librarian is to share stories with my students. Stories that will make them think, ask questions, become more empathetic, informed, and aware. It is an honor to be recognized among such passionate educators and I’ll do my best to represent the amazing students and teachers of Anderson One.”
Assistant Superintendent Jane Harrison said, “Ms. Cox is an outstanding librarian and very well deserving of this award. She not only serves students but she is equally beneficial to the teachers in the school providing continuous support. She has had a tremendous impact on the school. We are so happy to recognize her. She will represent us well at the state level.”

School District One recognizes Teachers of the Year from each school

Teacher of the Year Photo – Anderson School District One Teachers of the Year from each school in the district included: (Front Row) – Brooke Windham, Julianne Kaye, Tamara Cox, Janice Webster, Kala Goss and Amanda Jarrard
(Back) – Aaron Winner, Larsen Kiser, Sarah Day, Lori Randall, Lori Davis, Katie Marler, Mary Gilstrap and Rachel Wayne

Jane Harrison, Assistant Superintendent, recognized the district Teachers of the Year. She shared during the ceremony, “These teachers represent Anderson One’s “tradition of excellence” in the classroom. It is an honor to be selected by your peers to serve in this prestigious role.”

Two finalists were also named: Kala Goss from Concrete Primary. She teaches second grade and Sarah Day, Powdersville High, teaching math.

School District One Teachers of the Year included:
Cedar Grove Elementary Lori Davis, 5th grade
Concrete Primary Kala Goss, 2nd Grade
Hunt Meadows Elementary Julianne Kaye, Librarian
Palmetto Elementary Amanda Jarrard, ESL teacher
Powdersville Elementary Rachel Wayne, 5th grade
Spearman Elementary Katie Marler, 3rd grade
West Pelzer Elementary Brooke Windham, 1st grade
Wren Elementary Mary Gilstrap, 5th grade
Palmetto Middle Aaron Winner, 6th grade
Powdersville Middle Lori Randall, 6th grade
Wren Middle Janice Webster, 8th grade
Palmetto High Larsen Kiser, ELA
Powdersville High Sarah Day, math
Wren High Tamara Cox, Librarian

Also introduced by Ms. Harrison was Anderson One’s Induction Teacher of the Year, Jordanne Harpster. She completed her first year of teaching last year at Wren Middle School and was named for her outstanding accomplishments academically.

Recognized during the opening were Support Staff Employees of the Year. These employees were selected by their peers at each individual school.

Included were:

Cedar Grove Anna Cadden, K4 Instructional Assistant
Concrete Kelli Eskew, Custodian
Hunt Meadows Carmen Bailey, School Nurse
Palmetto Elem Vickie Fullbright, Teacher Assistant
Powdersville Elem Alisa Johnson, Cafeteria Manager
Spearman Elem Glenda Allsep, Cafeteria Manager
West Pelzer Elem Jennifer Consentino, Attendance Clerk
Wren Elem Karen Fink, Kindergarten Assistant
Palmetto Mid Erica Bruce, ISS Coordinator
Powdersville Mid Ame Powers, Special Ed Teacher Assistant
Wren Mid Kim Perry, Secretary
Palmetto HIgh Joan Plunkett, receptionist, retired
Powdersville High Susan Callaham, Bookkeeper
Wren High Julie Morgan, Cafeteria Manager

The 2018-2019 support person of the year was Susan Callaham, bookkeeper at Powdersville High School. She has worked in the district for 11 years. She said, “I believe that support staff are in place to support both the teachers and the administrators working together to ensure effective school operations.”