No Mask Ordinance for Anderson County


By Stan Welch
The Anderson County Council declined to pass a county wide face mask ordinance Tuesday. District Two Councilwoman Gracie Floyd, whose district lies partly within Anderson city limits, sponsored the proposed requirement.
The city of Anderson currently has a mask requirement, and Floyd and District One Councilman Craig Wooten were the two votes for the measure. Councilman Ray Graham was absent, and Council members Tommy Dunn, Jimmy Davis, Brett Sanders and Cindy Wilson all voted no.
Numbers released by the Anderson County Emergency Management Division in recent weeks have indicated a significant slowing in the spread of the coronavirus, although many county offices continue to be manned by skeleton crews, or are closed to the public altogether.