Candidates for upcoming general election


In the general election scheduled for November 3, the following is the slate of candidates.
For the presidency and vice presidency of the United States, incumbents Donald Trump and Mike Pence are running on the Republican ticket, while Joseph Biden and Kamala Harris are running as Democrats. Roque ‘Rocky’ De La Fuente and Darcy Richardson are running on the Alliance Party ticket.
Republican Senator Lindsey Graham faces opposition from Democrat Jaime Harrison.
Congressman Jeff Duncan will face Democratic challenger Hosea Cleveland.
In the pertinent state Senate races, incumbent Richard Cash will face Judith Polson (D) in District 3, while Jose Villa will challenge incumbent Mike Gambrell in the District 4 Senate race.
In state House races, Incumbent Brian White is unopposed in District 6, while Jay West faces a challenger Andrea Bajarano-Robinson. In District 8, Jonathon Hill faces Jackie Todd, of the Alliance Party, while incumbent Anne Thayer is unopposed in her District 9 race. West Cox is likewise unopposed in District 10, as Craig Gagnon is in District 11.
In the County Council races, John B. Wright will be seeking the District 1 seat, while incumbent Gracie Floyd faces David Standard in District 2. Incumbents Ray Graham (D3) Brett Sanders (D4), Tommy Dunn (D5), Jimmy Davis (D6) and Cindy Wilson (D7) are all unopposed.
Treasurer Jason Phillips, auditor Jacky Hunter, Sheriff Chad McBride, Clerk of Court Richard Shirley and Coroner Greg Shore are likewise unopposed.
On the Piedmont Public Service Commission incumbent Rudy Rhodes and two newcomers, Andrigoula Karanikas and Charlene Spelts, will vie for the two available seats. The two highest vote getters will serve.
Al Rentz and Eric McConnell are running for the Big Creek Water Conservation Board, while J. Mark Bishop and Phil Tripp are running for the Three and Twenty board.
In the School District One races, incumbent Moochie Merritt faces J.C. Neil for the Area 3 seat, while Brenda Ellison (Area 6) and Mike Wilson (Area 2 ) are unopposed.
For the election in Williamston, Mayor Mack Durham and current councilman Rockey Burgess have signed up for the office of Mayor. Councilman Chris Alexander has signed up for the seat he currently holds for Ward 4. Tabitha Austin signed up for Ward 3 council seat. Longtime councilman David Harvell (Ward 3) did not sign up to run.