Anderson County SC Election Results 2022


While some incumbents holding offices in Anderson County had challengers, most ran unopposed. There were some decisions for voters to make on the state level.

With forty-six of forty-six counties across the state reporting, Republican Governor Henry McMaster defeated Democrat Joe Cunningham 980,669 to 684,935.
Republican Senator Tim Scott defeated Democratic challenger Krystle Matthews 1,057,341 to 661,500.
Republican Ellen Weaver defeated Democratic challenger Lisa Ellis 929,442 to 661,500 for the State Superintendent of Education. Ellis also garnered 52,618 more votes running on the Alliance party ticket.

On the local level, in Anderson County, State House District 6 Representative April Cromer (Republican) ran unopposed.
State House District 7 incumbent representative Jay West (Republican) received 8,252 votes in Anderson County. Democrat Chris Salley received 2,442.
State House District 9 Incumbent (Republican) Anne Thayer received 8,774 votes. Democratic candidate Judith Polson received 3,062.
State House of Representatives, District 10 – Republican Thomas Beach, running unopposed, received 7,937 votes. Dist 10 covers portions of Anderson, Greenville and Pickens Counties.
State House of Representatives, District 11 – Republican Craig Gagnon, running unopposed, received 3,084 votes in Anderson County. The seat covers portions of Abbeville, Anderson and Laurens Counties. Gagnon had a total of 10,536 votes in all three counties.

Probate Judge J. T. Foster (Republican), running unopposed, received 52,366. There were 627 write-in votes cast.
Auditor Unexpired Term – John Benca (Republican), running unopposed, received 52,366 votes.

County Council District 7 – Incumbent M. Cindy Wilson (Republican) received 7,298 votes to 1,653 for challenger Mark Powell (Democratic).
Jimmy Davis will continue to represent Anderson County Council District 6.

Art D. Garrison and Alex Kostik will serve on the Soil and Water Commission.
Joey Werner will serve on Big Creek Water District. Randy Griffis will serve on the Three and Twenty Watershed Board.

Three Anderson County School District One Board of Trustees members, all running unopposed, will continue to serve. They are: Area 4 Pat Cox, Area 5 Wendy Burgess and Area 7 Nancy Owen Upton.
Doug Atkins will continue to serve on the County Board of Education District 3. Greg Balog will represent District 4.

Williamston Town Council
G. Lee Cole, Jr. ran unopposed for the Williamston Town Council Ward 2 seat he currently holds. Tony Hagood, running as a write-in candidate for the Ward 1 seat he currently holds, will continue to serve.

Piedmont Public Service District
Three incumbent candidates running for re-election to the Piedmont Public Service District Board of Commissioners will continue to serve. They are Al C McAbee Jr., Ed Poore and Terry Yates.

On the state level – Incumbent Republican Governor Henry McMaster and Lt. Governor Pamela Evette carried Anderson County with 46,000 votes (72.76%). Bruce Reeves and Jessica Ethridge (Libertarian Party) received 699 vote and Joe Cunningham and Talley Parham Casey on the Democratic Ticket received 16,493 votes (26.09%).
Secretary of State – Incumbant Mark Hammond (Republican) received 48,691 to 14,228 for Rosemounda Peggy Butler (Democratic).
State Treasurer – Curtis Loftis (Republican) received 50,105 votes to 7,047 for Sarah E. Work of the Alliance Party.
Attorney General Alan Wilson (Republican), running unopposed, received 52,593 votes in Anderson County. There were 882 write-in votes.
Comptroller General Richard Eckstrom (Republican), also running unopposed, received 52,595 votes. There were 637 write-in votes.

In Anderson County, running for State Superintendent of Education, Ellen Weaver (Republican) received 42,856 votes. Lisa Ellis (Alliance) received 2,103 and Lisa Ellis (Democratic) received 17,023.
Incumbent Republican Hugh Weathers, running for Commissioner of Agriculture, received 48,783 votes.

U. S. Senator Tim Scott (Republican) received 48,644 votes in Anderson County. Challenger Krystle Matthews (Democratic) received 14,355 votes.
Jeff Duncan, running unopposed for the U. S. House of Representatives District 3 seat, received 51,825 votes. There were 1,316 write-in votes cast for the office.

All vote totals being reported are unofficial until they are certified.