Category Archives: Government & Politics

Scott campaigning to keep his seat on council

Incumbent councilman Otis Scott is running for reelection to the Ward 4 seat on Williamston Town Council. “I am asking for your vote in the November election,” Scott said this week. “It has been a privilege serving the people of Williamston as your councilman for Ward 4 for the past four years. I not only serve my ward, but have worked hard to serve all the citizens of Williamston.”

Anderson County Republican Party plans Fall Event

With Jeff Duncan – The Anderson County Republican Party will hold a Fall Event with Congressman Jeff Duncan as the Featured Speaker at Oxford Farm on Monday, Oct. 17 at 6 pm. Oxford Farm is located at 312 Five Road, Anderson and is the Farm of Denise and Cobb Oxford. The Fall Event will feature barbeque by Creekside Barbeque and Music by the Crystal River BlueGrass Gospel Band.

All Anderson County Officials are invited to this Republican Party Event. The doors open at 5:30 pm. The price is $20 per person at the door. RSVP by Friday, Oct. 14 at Eventbrite at Jeff Duncan at Oxford Farm. For questions or information call 864-933-6141 or 221-1221.

In-person absentee voting begins Oct. 11

In-person absentee voting will begin on Tuesday, October 11 in Anderson County. Registered voters, who qualify, and need to cast an absentee ballot for the General Election can weekdays during the hours of 8:30 a.m. until 5 p.m.

“In-person absentee voting is opening 30 days prior to this election. By giving voters 30 days to vote absentee rather than two weeks before the election, we are hoping to avoid the issue of really long lines here at our office,” said Katy Smith, Director. “However, we anticipate lines will be long first thing in the morning, and lunch time. Voters need to understand that the issues of long lines and wait times are inevitable with the growing interest in this Election.”

People are encouraged to visit to learn more about Absentee Voting and the Voting Process. The Board of Voter Registration and Elections Office is located at 301 North Main Street.

Sen. Tim Scott to host Opportunity Lives event at Clemson

Opportunity Lives will host a special event with Sen. Tim Scott (R-SC) from 6:30 p.m. to 8:30 p.m., Wednesday, October 12, at Clemson University. The event, focused on solutions to poverty, will be co-hosted by the collegiate activism group, Turning Point USA.

The evening will begin with a screening of select episodes of “Comeback,” a documentary series starring Speaker Paul Ryan, Sen. Tim Scott, Deion Sanders and leaders across the U.S. who are transforming lives with community-based solutions to the greatest challenges facing America.The event will be held in the Watt Family Innovation Center, 405 South Palmetto Blvd., Clemson.

Voter registration deadline is October 8

Voter Registration Deadlines for the November 8 General Election are fast approaching. To help ensure voters are prepared for the upcoming General Election, the County Board of Elections reminds anyone who plans to vote and is not yet registered of the upcoming voter registration deadline and urge those already registered to update their information. To vote in the general election for President and other offices, citizens must be registered by this Saturday, October 8.

Residents express opposition to county hospitality tax

During public meeting

By Stan Welch

District Seven Councilwoman Cindy Wilson held a public forum Tuesday night at the Williamston Municipal Center to receive public input on the proposed two cent hospitality tax for the unincorporated areas of the county. The meeting narrowly avoided mob status, as loud, unruly behavior ran its course. Approximately thirty people attended the informal meeting, and approximately two thirds of them expressed anger at the tax, at the government, at corruption, and in general.

Wilson, for her part, struggled at times to control the emotional group, which occasionally expressed itself in profanity, and whose members often went on long, rambling rants against several unrelated aspects of government, at the local, state and federal levels.

Republican Party to host town hall

On hospitality tax

The Anderson County Republican Party will host a Town Hall Forum on the proposed two percent tax on prepared food for unincorporated areas of Anderson County.The forum will be held at Concord Comunity church, 610 Concord Road in Anderson at 6:30 p.m. on Mnday Sept. 19. All members of Anderson County Council have been invited to attend the forum for explanation and interaction concerning the proposed hospitality tax, said Dan Harvell, ACRP Chairman. The public is invited to attend.

Rep. Thayer appointed to SC Tax Review Committee

House District 9 Representative Anne Thayer, was recently appointed by Speaker of the House, Jay Lucas, to serve on the House Tax Policy Review Committee. Speaker Pro-Tempore Tommy Pope will serve as Chairman. The committee will be comprised of fourteen legislators.

“The bipartisan members of this ad hoc committee were individually selected because of their leadership abilities and knowledge of the tax system. I am confident that this diverse group will successfully begin laying the groundwork for significant tax reform,” Speaker Jay Lucas stated.

Alexander to run for Williamston Town Council Ward 4 seat

AlexanderResChris Alexander, 41, of Belton Drive, Williamston announced last week that he is running for the Williamston Town Council Ward 4 seat. Alexander is a 1993 graduate of Palmetto High School and a 1998 graduate of Tri -County Tech with a degree in business management. He presently works for Sealed Air Cryovac in Simpsonville as a graphic artist. He also serves on the Williamston Planning Commission.

Alexander said he had given a lot of thought over the last year to running for the Ward 4 seat. “I wanted to contribute to the town in some way and this could do it,” he said. “To not be a bystander.”

Books open for Williamston election

Books are now open for filing for anyone interested in running for office in Williamston. Offices to be voted on in the town election include Mayor, Council Ward 3 and Council Ward 4. Citizens desiring to be candidates for one of the offices may file at the Williamston Municipal Center, 12 W. Main St., Williamston.

Books open August 10 for Williamston election

The Town of Williamston general election will be held in conjunction with the National general election on Tuesday, November 8. Any person wishing to register to vote in this election must register no later than October 8.

Offices to be voted on in the town election include Mayor, Council Ward 3 and Council Ward 4. Citizens desiring to be candidates for one of the offices may file at the Williamston Municipal Center, 12 W. Main St., Williamston. Books will be open for filing at 12 p.m. on August 10 and remain open during regular business hours until 12 p.m. on August 24.

Register to vote at Spring Water Festival

Attendees of the upcoming Spring Water Festival will be able to register to vote and find out more about South Carolina’s Voting System while at the festival. As public service to attendees of the Festival, the South Carolina Election Commisssion will be providing information and registering people to vote in the upcoming General Election in November.

Filing opens for non-partisan offices

The Board of Voter Registration and Elections Office for Anderson County is now accepting candidate filing through Aug. 15 for nonpartisan offices to be elected in the November 8, 2016 General Election.

Among offices that are coming open are: Anderson County Board of Education, Anderson School Trustees Districts 1-5, Homeland Park Water District Commissioners, Piedmont Public Service District Commissioners, and Watershed Conservation Districts Commissioners. There are no filing fees for these offices.

Please visit and