District One Board approves school personnel


In addition to approving an updated version of the 2012-13 budget at their May 29 meeting, The Anderson School District One Board revised several policies dealing with bullying and use of technology and approved personnel recommendations. Outgoing Palmetto High Principal Dr. Mason Gary was recognized by the Board for being named the SCAAEOP Administrator of the Year. Superintendent Dr. Wayne Fowler presented Dr. Gary with a plaque recognizing the achievement.

The Palmetto High AA State Championship Softball team was also recognized by the Board. Team members, coaches and some parents were present for the recognition which included presentation of a plaque.

Dr. Fowler said that being able to watch the championship game at home at the Palmetto High softball field made it even more special. “We stood on our own soil, at our own field and saw that happen,” he said.

Assistant Supertntendent David Havird reported that the nurtrition program had revenues of $286,048 and expenses of $256,556 for a $29,492 profit for May. The program has a yearly profit of $124,187, he said.

The Board also approved revised policies dealing with bullying and use of technology and approved personnel recommendations during the meeting.

Following an executive session, the Board approved the following personnel recommendations:

Request for Leave – Jessica Thomas, Powdersville Elementary School, Grade 5; Hannah Titus, Palmetto Elementary, Speech.

Resignations – Katie Dare, Palmetto Middle, Math; Leroy Kennedy, Wren Middle, Music; Karen Nall, Concrete Primary, Art; Stephanie Stone, Wren High English.

Transfer – Debbie Cox, Concrete Primary, Resource, .5FTE to .8 FTE.

Recommendations – Jennifer Bagwell, Wren Middle, Academic Assistance; Lee Carter, Powdersville Middle, Math; Erin Crumley, Palmetto Middle, Science; Melissa Freeman, Cedar Grove Elementary, LD Resource; Megan Scott, Wren Middle, Guidance (.5FTE).

At the April 24 meeting the following personnel recommendations were approved:

Resignation – Julia Evatt, Palmetto Elementary, Grade 4; Sybelle Franklin, Wren High, Spanish; Dr. Mason Gary, Palmetto High Principal; Jason Ridlehoover, Palmetto Middle Math.

Recommendations – corey Davis, Palmetto Middle, Grade 7 Math/Social Studies; Belinda Godfrey, Powdersville Middle, Grade 7 ELA; Deidra Langston, Powdersville Middle, Physical Education; Joshua Miller, Wren High, Wren Middle, Strings; Joanne Watkins, Palmetto High, Social Studies.