Runoff to decide Williamston mayor


In official but uncertified results for the Williamston mayoral race, Carthel Crout and Dr. Mack Durham will be in a runoff in two weeks to decide the mayor seat. Crout received 419 votes, while Durham had 415 and Phillip Clardy received 390.

A runoff will also decide who will serve on the Williamston Town Council Ward 4 seat. Mike Looper, with 445 votes and Otis Scott, with 481, were the two top vote getters. Elaine Wilson received 244 votes.

Councilman David Harvell will retain his seat on council with 694 to challenger Mike Smith’s 451.