Touchdown Club to hold annual awards dinner


Conner Shaw featured speaker

The Anderson Area Touchdown Club will hold its annual awards dinner on Wednesday, April 8 at the Anderson Sports & Entertainment Complex, corner of MLK Boulevard and Camson Road. Connor Shaw, former USC Quarterback and now the Quarterback for the Cleveland Browns, will be the guest speaker.

Each year the Touchdown Club honors the outstanding football players and coaches selected from the eight (8) Anderson County High Schools. They will recognize the 50 winners selected during this past fall’s weekly meetings.

The Offensive Player of the Year is Kelly Bryant. He played for Wren High School and now a football player at Clemson University. The Offensive Lineman is Evan Vaughn, who played at Belton-Honea Path High School.

The Defensive Player of the Year is Brandon Burger and he played at Powdersville High School. The Defensive Lineman is Mike Robinson, who hails from Westside High School. Coach of the Year is Scott Earley, Westside High School.

An award is also presented for the outstanding Scholastic player. A special award will be presented to the young man who has made sacrifices in his life in order to play football for this school. The winners of these awards will be announced at the dinner.

The doors will open at 6:00pm to mix and mingle and signing of autographs. Entertainment will be presented by the Hanna Jazz Band from 6-6:45pm. The meal line will open at 6:30pm and the program begins at 7 pm.

Advance Tickets are $15 for Adults and $10 for students, which includes a meal. Call 864/226-7380 for reservations.