Palmetto, Powdersville moving to same conference in 2016


Anderson School District One Superintendent David Havird announced Tuesday that Palmetto High School and Powdersville High School will be in the same conference in 2016-18. Palmetto will remain 3A while Powdersville will move up to 3A. The schools will compete in a new conference known as AAA Region II along with Berea, Carolina, Emerald and Southside.

Wren will move up to AAAA Region I competing with Belton-Honea Path, Daniel, Greenville and Pickens.

The District One Board approved the following personnel recommendations:

Leave – Carrie Pennington, Assistant Principal, Hunt Meadows.

Retirement – Jennifer Lawing, 1st grade, West Pelzer.

Resignation – Mary Orem, Media Specialist, Palmetto High.

Transfers – Martha Taylor, Media Specialist, Wren Middle to Media Specialist at Palmetto High.

Recommendations – Emily Ward, Media Specialist, Wren Middle; Jessica Ross, Special Education at Palmetto High.

The Board also unanimously approved Dr. Doug Atkins, Nancy Upton and Fred Alexander to serve as delegates on the South Carolina School Board Association.