Pelzer voters to choose from eleven candidates


In newly expanded voting

By David Meade

For the first time in history, all residents of the upper and lower mill villages in Pelzer who are registered to vote, will have the opportunity to choose who will represent them on town council. Voters in the recently expanded Town of Pelzer will choose from eleven candidates when they vote next Tuesday, Nov. 3 to decide who will serve on the town’s four council seats.

Incumbents Cheryl Boudreau, Donna Ide and Tony Riddle are seeking reelection to the seats they have held for some time.

Joining them on the ballot are eight candidates who want to be a part of the decision making process that will direct the town’s future. They are: Jimmy Harrison, Roger Scott Sr., Kimberly Crone Wilson, Charles Emery, Olene Bear, Gilbert Garrett, Eve Holiday and Will Ragland.

The town’s annexation of the upper and lower mill villages and surrounding properties earlier this year opened the door for those interested in having more say in the town operations, and allowing voters more say in who will represent them on the council.

Incumbent Mayor Steve McGregor is up for reelection however his name will not appear on the ballot because he was the only one to sign up to run for the mayor’s seat.

All Pelzer council positions including mayor are two year terms.

Residents had two opportunities to hear from candidates at two public meet the candidate forums held at the community building.

The second forum was featured last week in The Journal. Candidates who turned in information to The Journal have their profiles in this week’s edition.

To vote in the upcoming election, residents had to be registered by October 2, 2015.

Voting will be held at the Pelzer Community Building. The polls will be open at 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. on Election Day.

Voters will be asked to show one of the following Photo IDs:

S.C. Driver’s License

ID Card issued by S.C. Department of Motor Vehicles

S.C. Voter Registration Card with Photo

Federal Military ID

U.S. Passport

The top four vote getters will fill the four Pelzer Town Council seats.

If necessary, any run-off election will be held two weeks after the election on Tuesday, November 17.

The Town’s Municipal Election Commission will be in charge of the election. Election Commisssion members include Scott Larson, Walter Davis and Jackie Vaughn.