Pelzer voters go to polls Tuesday


Registered voters in Pelzer will have the opportunity to choose from eleven candidates when they vote Tuesday to decide who will serve on the town’s four council seats .

Eight of the candidates are running for town council to have more input in the future of the town. The town’s annexation of the upper and lower mill villages earlier this year opened the door for those interested in having more say in the town operations.

They are: Jimmy Harrison, Roger Scott Sr., Kimberly Crone Wilson, Charles Emery, Olene Bear, Gilbert Garrett, Eve Holiday and Will Ragland. Incumbents Cheryl Boudreau, Donna Ide and Tony Riddle are also seeking reelection to the seats they currently hold.

Incumbent Mayor Steve McGregor is up for reelection however his name will not appear on the ballot because he was the only one to sign up to run for the mayor’s seat.

All Pelzer council positions including mayor are two year terms.

Voting will be held at the Pelzer Community Building. The polls will be open at 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. on Election Day.

Voters will be asked to show one of the following Photo IDs:

S.C. Driver’s License

ID Card issued by S.C. Department of Motor Vehicles

S.C. Voter Registration Card with Photo

Federal Military ID

U.S. Passport

The top four vote getters will fill the four Pelzer Town Council seats.

If necessary, any run-off election will be held two weeks after the election on Tuesday, November 17.

The Town’s Municipal Election Commission will be in charge of the election. Election Commisssion members include Scott Larson, Walter Davis and Jackie Vaughn.