Anderson County Council holds first meeting of 2019


By Stan Welch
The first meeting of the 2019 Anderson County Council was preceded by the en masse swearing in of the Council, which includes two new members this year. (See related article)
Incumbents Craig Wooten, Gracie Floyd Ray Graham, Tommy Dunn, and Cindy Wilson were joined by newcomers Brett Sanders and Jimmy Davis. Reverend Kurt Stutler offered the benediction and Anderson County Clerk of Court Richard Shirley invoked the oath of office to the Council.
Upon officially convening the normal business meeting at 6:30, the Council immediately reelected Chairman Tommy Dunn and Vice Chairman Ray Graham, respectively.
The Council then moved quickly through a brief agenda, giving final approval to a zoning request to change approximately nine acres at 83 Princeton Highway from neighborhood commercial to highway commercial.
Council also approved the reduction of the percentage of a contract from ten per cent to five per cent on two projects. The change applies to the paving contract at the Anderson airport, and phase two of the Five Mile Sewer project.
The usual schedule of meeting dates for the coming year was approved, following the pattern of the first and third Tuesdays of each month.