Aubrey Williams selected Anderson School District One Teacher of the Year


Aubrey Williams, history teacher at Wren High School was named the Anderson School District One Teacher of the Year 2021-22 during a recent program held at the new Palmetto Middle School in Williamston.

Superintendent, Robbie Binnicker welcomed over 1100 employees back to school at the celebration on August 13.

Becky Brady, Assistant Superintendent, recognized the District One Teachers of the Year.

“Anderson School District One is very fortunate to have teachers who provide highly effective instruction to students while fostering their social and emotional development as well,”Brady said. “This talented group of educators selected by their schools are leaders in their field and we certainly congratulate them.”

Teachers of the Year

Individual School Teachers of the Year included:

Cedar Grove Elementary Elizabeth Lopez 1st Grade
Concrete Primary  Candice Garrison Kindergarten
Hunt Meadows Elementary  Amy McTigue 5th Grade
Palmetto Elementary  Amy Sutherland 5th Grade
Powdersville Elementary Tracy Redmon Speech/Language Pathologist
Spearman Elementary Noel Nolen 1st Grade
West Pelzer Susan Schultheis Special Education
Wren Elementary Katie Tyner 3rd Grade
Palmetto Middle Caryle LaBoone Special Education
Powdersville Middle Lee Carter Math and Social Studies
Wren Middle Merebeth Adams Instructional Coach
Palmetto High Jessica Ross Special Education
Powdersville High Ryan Norton Special Education
Wren High Aubrey Williams Social Studies Teacher

According to Brady, a very qualified committee of judges reviewed the applications and selected three finalists that were recognized: Candace Garrison – Concrete Primary School; Carlye LaBoone – Palmetto Middle School and Aubrey Williams – Wren High School.









AD1 Teacher of the Year 2021-22

Brady announced the District Teacher of the Year – Wren High history teacher Aubrey Williams. Pictured (l-r) are Joy Zapata – Upstate Federal Credit Union, Aubrey Williams – ASD1 Teacher of the Year, Nancy Upton – Board of Trustees Chairperson, Robbie Binnicker, Superintendent

Anderson One Superintendent Binnicker shared, “Mrs. Williams is an exceptional teacher and will help lead our district through this next school year.  She has a great rapport with students and we are fortunate to have her in Anderson School District One.”

“It is a true blessing to be recognized as Anderson School District One’s Teacher of the Year,” said Williams. “While this is only the start of my third year in the district, all of which, have been impacted by COVID-19, I can honestly say that this district values its faculty, staff, and students like no other. As we navigate uncertain times, the educators in Anderson One continue to place value in continuing education and growth for our students, no matter the circumstance. I see the unparalleled energy and commitment that these educators put into their craft and it is an honor to work alongside them in this profession.
I owe a big thank you to my students, who understandably are not all thrilled to be immersed in a social studies curriculum, for being willing to challenge themselves to study all sides of a story, analyze the impacts that past events have on their own lives, and learn how to engage in professional dialogue and debates. You guys are why I love my job! I look forward to engaging in new discussions with you all this year.
To the Anderson School District One team, I am excited to be a representative for you, your ideas, and concerns. I am praying everyone has a fantastic and healthy school year.”

Dr. Seth Young, Principal of Wren High School said, “We are so excited for Mrs. Aubrey Williams to represent Wren High School and Anderson District One as the District Teacher of the Year. She does a phenomenal job maintaining high expectations for ALL of her students and doing whatever it takes to make sure her students meet her high standards for them. Her engaging lessons and activities keep her students excited about learning in her classes. Mrs. Williams is a wonderful example of excellence.”



Dr. Jeff Wilson, Assistant Superintendent, introduced the Support Staff of the Year.

Teresa Meares, from Palmetto Middle School  was named Support Person of the Year.

(See Separate Story) – Meares named AD1 Support Staff of the Year 2021-22

Gardo named Induction Teacher of the Year

Teachers of the Year 2021 – 2022

Top Featured photo – Pictured (l-r) are Amy McTigue, Merebeth Adams, Tracy Redmon, Katie Tyner, Elizabeth Lopez, Susan Schultheis, Lee Carter, Ryan Norton, Aubrey Williams, Carlye LaBoone, Jessica Ross, Noel Nolen and Amy Sutherland
Not pictured: Candice Garrison