Area students honored for promoting acceptance and diversity


Twenty area middle and high school students were recently honored by the Anderson County Human Relations Council for their efforts to promote acceptance and diversity within the school community. Students, their families, school and government officials were treated to an award dinner and presentation ceremony at the Westside Community Center in Anderson.

The Cory White Diversity Award was established by the Anderson County Human Relations Council in memory of the student designer of its logo, Cory White. Cory was known for his ability and efforts to reach out to those who were alone, shy, or ignored. This annual award spotlights a student nominated by teachers and other school officials from each of Anderson County’s middle and high schools, who has positively affected peers, teachers, and/or school staff in the areas of human rights, special needs and disabilities, and/or cultural inclusion and acceptance, qualities exemplified by Cory White.

Recipients from Anderson School District One are: Caden Landreth (Palmetto High), Mason Bell (Palmetto Middle), Aidan Rueda (Powdersville High), Guadalupe Casa Escobar (Powdersville High), Breanna Leonard (Wren High), Kristian Freeman (Renaissance Academy)

School District Two: Treshauna Mims (Belton Middle), Carlee Murdock (Honea Path Middle), Emily Miller (Belton-Honea Path High)

School District Three: Kylan Ware (Starr-Iva Middle), Mitzy Delgado (Crescent High)

School District Four: Da’Shawn Johnson (Riverside Middle), Quintieon Greenlee (Pendleton High)

School District Five: AJ Heaton (Glenview Middle), Hall Knobel (McCants Middle), Josiah McKinney (Robert Anderson Middle), Hayden Wideman (Southwood Academy of the Arts), Briggs Powell (T. L. Hanna High), Cole Dalton (Westside High), Julia Orr (Anderson Five Charter School)