Primary voting Tuesday – June 12


Republican primary voting will be held Tuesday, June 12.
The Governor’s seat is hotly contested with the following candidates:

Incumbent Henry McMaster, who was appointed by Governor Haley when she accepted the ambassadorship to the United Nations, is seeking to retain the office.
Lined up in opposition are Catherine Templeton, current Lt. Governor Kevin Bryant, John Steven Warren, Jr., Marguerite Willis, John Yancey McGill, and James Philip Noble.

State Attorney General Alan Wilson faces challenges from William D. Herlong and Todd K. Atwater. Incumbent Secretary of State Mark Hammond faces opposition from Powdersville’s Joshua Putnam, along with Nelson Faerber, and Kerry S. Wood.

More local, Anne Thayer will face no opposition in the Republican primary for the House District 9 seat. West Cox is facing no opposition in the Republican primary but will face Democrat Lucy Hoffman in the Nov. election.
Jonathon Hill will face Don Bowen in the District 8 race for the South Carolina House of Representatives. Hill defeated Bowen for the seat in the last election.
District Six incumbent and current chairman of the House Ways and Means Committee Brian White will face Rick Freemantle.

At the county level, Judge Dan Sharp is seeking the probate judge’s post held by long time incumbent Martha Newton. The District Four County Council seat is being contested by Frank Pressley, Glenn D. Buddin, Jr., and Brett Ian Sanders. Incumbent Tom Allen declined to seek reelection.
In District Six, Councilman Ken Waters faces opposition from James D. Davis.
Local municipalities will also be holding elections in November and candidate signups will be held later this year.